RSS SucceSS?

Techies try to teach friends and family about the simplicity of RSS. More sites than ever before offer access to RSS feeds for, well, name it. Now, 10 years after the first version of the concept was developed (March 1999) one of the greatest technologies on the inter-tubes is used by a small percentage of people.

Why?

I have presented workshops on how RSS can save time and consolidate information someone is interested in. I have set-up friends and family to use a number of RSS applications (on- and off-line) but to this day I am still one of the only people in my circle of friends and family that use an RSS reader. I’m baffled.

Things take time but… 10+ years?

I can only feel that the implementation simply has not found the proper niche yet. Very few people hesitate to log-on to a web based system to check their email or their social network updates. How is it that UI developers have not considered this type of ‘feed’ into their own systems? If I were able to log-on to Facebook and could see my friends news updates and news updates from my favorite sources… Well, I just might spend more time on Facebook learning about something in the news and then share it with my friends, colleagues, and/or everyone else I’m ‘friends’ with on the site.

Maybe this is the way RSS will work. Maybe it isn’t.

Do you have thoughts on how to make RSS more accessible to the masses? Have you found the ‘key’ to inspire someone to use RSS? If you have, please comment below.

Leave a Reply

